Jim Clark on motor sport photography

jim-clark

The following excerpt is from the 1964 (revised in 1965) Jim Clark autobiography “Jim Clark at the Wheel”.

You can read the review for this book here.

“While on the subject of communications media, I’d like to say a word or two about motor racing photographers. Somehow they are different and I have many close friends who are photographers for newspapers and magazines. Indeed, one of the things I would like to try when I retire is taking motor racing photographs. I have always been interested in photography but haven’t had the time to develop it (no pun intended !).

I think I know most of the best places to go on the circuits to take pictures and sometimes when I get a bit bored in a race I look out for some of my photographer friends. I remember that I built up a warm friendship with George Phillips of Autosport in my early days and used to delight in either sticking my tongue out at him in practice or trying to spoil his pictures. Whenever I was bored, there was always George to wave to. At other times I would drive very close to him on a corner and try to make him move back.

On some circuits, there are certain spots where you can get really good pictures and at various times in practice I have tried to signal to a photographer to come nearer a corner or move to a different angle. On the next lap, I have checked his position and then on the following lap, maybe flicked the car sideways for him so that he can get a more dramatic picture. This is in no way suggesting that all racing pictures are ‘posed’. I only do this when I’m completely on my own. When I’m in the thick of a race, I am too busy to think about photographers or which way the car is pointing for them. When you think of it though, most people see motor racing for the first time through photographs and they contribute a lot to the development of public interest in motor racing. At school I used to look at racing pictures long before I took any interest in the text matter.”

 

 

Photo courtesy of f1wolf.com

Leave a Reply

