Lap record for current WA open-wheel series

Riley (left) and Burns jostle for position heading into the main straight.

F1000 cars set times around Barbagallo Raceway quicker than any current open-wheel series in the state.


Formula 1000, Western Australia’s newest open-wheel motor racing series, smashed the Formula Ford lap record around Perth’s Barbagallo Raceway last month, beating the fastest ever recorded Formula Ford time at the track by more than a second.

Ben Riley, who won the three races on April 26 from pole, set a 58.327s lap around the 2.41km lap at an average of 148.809km/h.

His time was nine seconds quicker than any other series on the day.

Riley said the new car was perfect.

“The handling is really good [and] the setup is absolutely fantastic. We went out there and did everything we wanted to do.”

Five cars were expected to participate in the series’ inaugural race meet, but two were sidelined with mechanical issues.

Ben Riley in qualifying

Ben Riley in qualifying

AUSF1000 Series President Derek Burns said the meeting was a success.

“The guys put on a good show,” Mr Burns said.

“It was clean, close racing and those that know their racing can appreciate it and would really know how hard [the drivers] were working.”

The cars will be at Barbagallo for a demonstration run during the V8 Supercar Perth 400 on May 18.

The next F1000 race meet will be at Barbagallo Raceway on June 7.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s